Africa East

East Africa Regional Office

The Africa East Regional Hub is based in Nairobi, the capital city of Kenya. This office oversees CBM’s work in the seven Eastern Africa countries of Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda (all core programme countries), Burundi, and South Sudan. All five core programme countries in the region have offices located in their respective capital cities namely Dar es Salaam, Kampala, Kigali, Addis Ababa and Nairobi. The remaining two countries are specific intervention countries. The region is under the leadership of a Regional Hub Director.

Within the seven countries, CBM is working with over 50 partners implementing at around 80 projects to improve the quality of life of persons with disabilities.  Using disability-inclusive development (DID) as the overarching principle of programme work, our approach revolves around CBM’s four strategic goals.

Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda have signed and ratified the UN Convention for the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD). Rwanda signed the convention in December 2008 while the Republic of South Sudan is yet to sign and ratify the convention. Additionally, Uganda and Burundi have signed and ratified the optional protocol. Rwanda signed the optional protocol in December 2008. 

The Regional Hub Office is supporting all the countries to expand space for enjoyment of rights by people with disabilities. To that extent, CBM in Africa East is also collaborating with a diverse range of alliance and networking partners such as the Inter Agency Working Group (IAWG) for East and Central Africa, in which it chairs the Inclusion Working Group (IWG).

Links for disability in East Africa:

UN Enable
National Council for Persons with Disabilities in Kenya
Community Action Network, Uganda
Action on Disability and Development